Powered by Max Banner Ads 

 Powered by Max Banner Ads 
Fryar, Burbank win locally | Preston Citizen

Fryar, Burbank win locally

May 17, 2012


Assistant editor


Franklin County voters turned out at the polls last week and elected a new commissioner and a Republican candidate for sheriff in closely-watched, primary election race.

Candidates were also selected for the Legislature in District 32 .

Locally, Franklin County Chief Deputy Dave Fryar won over a Republican challenger D.R. Clegg by almost 64 percent. Fryar received 1,739 votes to Clegg’s 1,012.

All results are unofficial until certified by Franklin County Commissioners.

Fryar will now face Democrat Alan G. Riggs in November’s general election. Riggs garnered 45 votes on Tuesday and was unopposed.

In a County Commission District 1 race, political newcomer Boyd Burbank defeated incumbent Richard Westerberg by 88 votes. Burbank garnered 1,387 votes to Westerberg’s 1,299. No Democrat filed for the position.

A Republican-elected candidate for prosecutor will face an Independent challenger this November. Todd Garbett won the nod from voters for the county attorney’s office with 2,285 votes and will face independent Tyler Olson. Olson’s name did not appear on the primary ballot.

Incumbent Dirk Bowles got 2,238 votes for County Commissioner District 2. He was unopposed and will face no opposition this November.

In the District 32 Legislative race, all the veterans did well. Sen. John Tippets lost to Franklin County Commissioner Scott Workman locally, but won district wide. The district includes Franklin, Oneida, Bear Lake, Caribou, Teton and a portion of Bonneville counties.

In Franklin County Workman received 1,425 votes and Tippets 1,197. But across the District, Tippets garnered 3,749 votes to Workman’s 2,437. Tippets will be unopposed this fall.

In the District 32 Representative Seat B race, incumbent Tom Loertcher, from Bone, defeated local candidate Kelton Larsen in Franklin County by a slim margin and also won the district.

Loertcher received 1,251 votes in the county to 1,200 for Larsen. Candidate Franklin Vilt got 226 votes. Across the district, Loertcher managed 3,276 votes with 1,796 for Larsen and 1,081 for Vilt. All are Republicans and Loertcher will be opposed by Democrat Ralph Mossman in November.

In the District 32 Representative Seat A race, Republican incumbent Marc Gibbs received 2,265 votes in Franklin County and 6,904 across the district. He was unopposed in the primary.

However, Gibbs will could face either Democrat Rich Bergman or Bob Fitzgerald in November. Bergman and Fitzgerald both got 322 votes in the district. Bergman defeated Fitzgerald in Franklin County.

The two candidates will meet with Democratic precinct committee representatives in the near future to determine the winner.

 Powered by Max Banner Ads 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Ready Reference 2015

2015 Letters to Santa