Powered by Max Banner Ads 

 Powered by Max Banner Ads 
Election results roundup | Preston Citizen

Election results roundup

November 13, 2013


Assistant editor

In Franklin County’s oldest town, Franklin, three incumbents were returned to office from a crowded field of candidates in last Tuesday’s municipal election.


In the mayor’s race, incumbent J. Todd Hawkes received 111 votes. Challenger Robert J. Atkinson garnered 77. There were two four-year council positions open and incumbents Joyce Bayles and Emily Chatterton were returned to office. Bayles got 87 votes while Chatterton got 107. Challengers Denis Jepsen received, 82; Mark Dietrich, 65; and Glen Seamons, 31.

Bryce Wood upset incumbent Stanton Smith for a two-year post. Wood got 97 votes and Smith, 90.

wasatch mort 11-13

In Preston two, four-year council positions were up for election and incumbent Todd Thomas was the highest vote getter with 382. Incumbent Travis Kunz received 362. Challenger LeeRoy Chaney Sr. garnered 84.

In Dayton Aaron Beutler was unopposed for mayor and got 101 votes. There was a three-way race for two council positions. Clinton Dunn and Zon Alder each got 75 votes. Michael Thompson got 63.

In Weston Layne Harris was unopposed for mayor and got 67 votes. All four council positions were open and candidates were unopposed. Camille Larsen received 60 votes; Van Woodward, 67; Ben Gittons, 66; and write-in candidate Joshua Roberts, 26.

In Clifton John Gailey was unopposed for mayor and garnered 40 votes. Lucas Mumford and Tristan Geddes were unopposed for four-year council seats. Mumford got 36 votes, while Geddes received, 34. Jill Kearl was unopposed for a two-year position and got 39 votes.

In the tiny town of Oxford, Claire H. Hatch and Phyllis Murphy each received four votes. Both are incumbent councilmembers and were unopposed.

In Franklin 58 percent of registered voters made it to the polls. In Preston there was a 20 percent turnout; Dayton, 46 percent; Weston, 31 percent; Clifton, 24 percent; and Oxford 16 percent.

This story is sponsored by Franklin County Treasurer and Wasatch Mortgage.

 Powered by Max Banner Ads 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Ready Reference 2015

2015 Letters to Santa