Powered by Max Banner Ads 

 Powered by Max Banner Ads 
Municipal candidates begin election race | Preston Citizen

Municipal candidates begin election race

September 11, 2013


Assistant editor

Voters living in Franklin County’s six incorporated towns will have a number of candidates to pick from on Tuesday, Nov. 5, when municipal elections are held.

The filing period for mayoral and council positions closed on Friday at 5 p.m.

The most crowded field is in the county’s second-largest community, Franklin. Incumbent Mayor J. Todd Hawkes is being opposed by Robert J. Atkinson.

NAPA SALE 3X10 9-2013

Incumbents Joyce Bayles and Emily Chatterton are being opposed for four-year terms by Denis Jepsen, Tom Midzinski, Glen Seamons, Mark Dietrich and Herb J. Maddock. Bryce Wood and Stanton Smith are challenging each other for a two-year post.

Municipal elections are non-partisan and the candidates who receive the most votes are declared the winners in the at-large contests.

In Preston, incumbents Todd Thomas and Travis Kunz and newcomer LeeRoy Chaney Sr. will vie for two four-year terms.

In Weston, current councilman Layne Harris is running unopposed for mayor. Former Mayor Camille Larsen and incumbents Van Woodward and Ben Gittons are unopposed for city council offices. No one filed for a fourth position and if that office remains vacant a resident will be appointed.

Former council member Aaron Beutler is running for mayor in Dayton and is unopposed. Michael Thompson, Clinton Dunn and Zon Alder are running for two council seats.

In Clifton incumbent John Gailey is running unopposed for mayor. Lucas Mumford and Tristan Geddes are unopposed for two, four-year council seats. Jill Kearl is unopposed for one, two-year position.

In the tiny town of Oxford, Claire H. Hatch and Phyllis Murphy, both incumbent councilmembers, are seeking re-election and are unopposed.

County elections clerk Camille Larsen said absentee balloting for the November election begins on Oct. 4 and can be done at the Franklin County Courthouse in Preston. Polling places for the actual elections will be announced later.

The county clerk’s office is now in charge of all elections in Franklin County. Larsen said she encourages every qualified voter in the respective towns to take advantage of the opportunity to vote and make their voice heard.

This story is sponsored by NAPA Auto Parts.

For the full story subscribe to The Preston Citizen: in print or online.

 Powered by Max Banner Ads 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Ready Reference 2015

2015 Letters to Santa